Capitalization or Capitalisation

I've often struggled with the correct capitalisation of my blog titles. So I did a google and discovered the wiki entry on this topic.

Here's the relevant excerpt:

Headings and publication titles

In English-language publications, different conventions are used for capitalizing words in publication titles and headlines, including chapter and section headings. The main examples are:

THE VITAMINS ARE IN MY FRESH BRUSSELS SPROUTS
all-uppercase letters
The Vitamins Are In My Fresh Brussels Sprouts
capitalization of all words, regardless of the part of speech
The Vitamins Are in My Fresh Brussels Sprouts
capitalization of all words, except for internal articles, prepositions and conjunctions
The Vitamins are in My Fresh Brussels Sprouts
capitalization of all words, except for internal articles, prepositions, conjunctions and forms of to be

The Vitamins are in my Fresh Brussels Sprouts
capitalization of all words, except for internal closed-class words
The Vitamins are in my fresh Brussels Sprouts
capitalization of all nouns
The vitamins are in my fresh Brussels sprouts
sentence-style capitalization (sentence case), only the first word and proper nouns are capitalized

the vitamins are in my fresh Brussels sprouts
capitalization of proper nouns only

the vitamins are in my fresh brussels sprouts
all-lowercase letters
One thought on “Capitalization or Capitalisation

  1. It all depends upon whether you are using APA or MLA or some other reference style. I usually stick with first letter in caps except for articles and prepositions. Good point made, thanks!

Leave a Reply

