On Writing…

It’s not that I don’t have strong memories or deeply held views on the world. It’s just that I can’t seem to write about fleeting moments in my life. I might be going through some major things in my life but I can’t seem to always write about those things. I don’t really want to. I’ve always wanted my writing to be creative and exemplary. I’m far from both goals. However I feel the only time I can really write is when I’m moved by something. Strongly.

Often times the things that have stirred the strongest feelings in me, and the encouraged a blog piece have been small. Almost unnoticeable. And I like that.

I find that’s missing a great deal more than it used to. My sister’s writing a lot lately. She is unbelievably talented, may Allah protect her talent and increase her in it. But see, I never get that emotionally driven in my writing. I think its just the person I am but I also like to blame my 9 – 5. It doesn’t give me time to really be reflective or poetic or dramatic with my expression 🙂

I’m looking forward to being moved to write again. I think things. I feel things. I go through things. And I don’t share them. That’s who I am.

4 thoughts on “On Writing…

  1. I feel that way from time to time too – I let that feeling pass… I try not to focus on it, and writing comes back as quietly as it went away :-).

    I would love to read your sister’s blog (?)

Leave a Reply

